November 22, 2009

  • Newsletter!

    I am putting together a new email newsletter, and each of my staff will be contributing to a different section of the newsletter.

    In each issue of the newsletter, you will find the following:
    1. “The Word on the Street” Details and blurbs from me on the happenings of the studio, classes, promotions, and anything else that might seem remotely interesting.
    2. “Recess!” In this section, my assistant, Diana, will share with all of you “the fun, crazy and amusing pieces of [her] life that help [her] survive the daily grind.”
    3. “Ask the Intern” Every month, we will take a question from one of our readers for Matt, the intern. If you would like to submit a question, please email me at Jessica@jkaminskiphoto.com, and title your email “Ask the Intern”

    I am really excited about this newsletter and hope that you enjoy it too! Plus, feedback is always pretty cool too, so feel free to contact me about things you might like to hear about in the newsletter or classes that you’d like to see offered.

    I will be using this blog to post the submissions of my staff in their entirety. And so, here is the first installment of Diana’s section. Enjoy!

    Recess!
    A person can get stuck in a pretty serious rut fast. Getting married, having babies, starting a new job are all things that just add more things on life’s to do list. Since Jessica has given me the opportunity to write a spot every month in her news letter, I thought I’d use it as a creative outlet to share with all of you the fun, crazy and amusing pieces of my life that help me survive the daily grind. I’m going to use this as another excuse to exercise my creativity and as a way to expand my repertoire of “getting out of a rut activities.”
    I got an idea from a book, a little blurb lost at the bottom of the page. It was so non-descript that I almost missed it. Every person that has ever had children, watched children, been a child, has run into the same problem. THE STUFF! In our case, our son, Sam, loves to draw. When I say love, I mean he draws every day. We were on the verge of being over run with artwork (for you see being an artist myself I can’t bare to part with a single original piece of art) when that small little passage I almost didn’t read set me free. A binder, put it all in a binder the book suggested. What? A binder? I couldn’t think of that? It’s just about his favorite book in the house, and I can’t say that I mind looking at it every once and a while either.
    When life seems to get a bit overwhelming, often the answer is a simple one. So if you find yourself being overrun by life, just put it all in a binder and be done with it.
    Till next month,
    ~diana

    DianaBlog1

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *