Month: April 2007

  • More movie fun

    Last weekend was the second production weekend for Perceval, a film by Tate Bunker. Here are some more images from the photo shoot. The first images I have labeled “production stills” but they are not true production stills because I did not/was not able to directly copy what Tate was seeing through his lens.

    Thanks again to everyone that helped out! Again, I was not able to be at every scene due to my duties as Production Manager, but I tried my best to include everyone that was involved.

    If anyone has additional photos, email them to me and I’ll make a post just for additional photos.

    Thanks again everyone!!!

    Production Stills:

    1 2 3 4 5 6 7

    Behind the Scenes:

    8 9
    10
    11
    12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25
    26
    27
    28 29 30 31 32

  • It IS easy being green!!

    Earth Day is this Sunday, and I wanted to offer some simple suggestions on how you can make small changes that will add up to big benefits for our Earth. It doesn’t require a lot of effort to make the world better, plus, you feel good when you do it!!

    I would like to challenge anyone reading this to just choose one or two things. Let me know what you did – I’d love to hear from you! Feel free to email me.

    10 Things You Can Do TODAY!!

    1. Change your lightbulbs. Go to the store and look for Compact Fluorescent Lightbulbs (CFL). They will cost you a bit more, but last 8-10 years and you’ll see a savings in your electric bill.
    2. Turn off the lights when you leave the room, and when you leave the house.
    3. Unplug appliances when you are not using them. Items such as your toaster or coffee maker still use energy when they are plugged in, even if when you are not using them. You can also purchase a Smart Strip, or plug everything into a regular power strip and turn off the power strip when you are not using the items that are plugged into it.
    4. Consider bringing your own bag to the grocery store. You can purchase reusable grocery bags at: www.reusablebags.com.
    5. Use less water. You don’t have to have the faucet running the entire time you are shaving or brushing your teeth! Fill the sink with water when you shave, or turn the faucet off until you are ready to rinse your mouth when brushing your teeth.
    6. Don’t throw away clothes and shoes. You can donate clothes to Goodwill, Purple Heart, or the Salvation Army. Some places even have pick-up, so you don’t even have to leave the house! Remember, leather products do not easily biodegrade.
    7. Bring your own coffee cup to the coffee shop. Some places even offer a bit of a discount if you bring your own cup. Plus, you cut down on those paper cups that just end up in the trash!
    8. Cut down on paper napkins. Sometimes fast food places give you a huge handful, but you don’t need to use them all! Take what you need and keep the rest in the car, or take them home, or even just give back the extra napkins.
    9. Consider using natural house cleaning products such as those made by Method or Myers. You can even make your own recipes! Check out this website for some recipe ideas: http://www.recipegoldmine.com/house/house.html A lot of commercial cleansing products have chemicals that are not good for you, and you really don’t need all that stuff in your body.
    10. Consume less. It’s ok to say no. Do you really need 20 napkins and an armload of plastic utensils from the drive -thru if your just on your way home or to the office? Do you really need everything double bagged at the grocery store? Do you really need to purchase a six pack of yogurt when you can buy one large container?

  • Ethiopian Cottage

    This is my Shepherd Express photo for Ethiopian Cottage. I was given the meal that I photographed and it was awesome! The key part here is that you eat using the bread as your utensil, so there is a lot of opportunity to get very messy! However, it was delicious and very healthful.

    The owner was also a sweetheart and he is pictured below with his wife.

    Ethiopian Cottage*

  • Magazine Extravaganza!

    A few months ago I contacted Milwaukee magazine and Wisconsin Bride Magazine to show them my work and see if they could use me for an assignment. Both of these magazines are very highly produced and I knew it would be a great medium to show off my photography.

    Well, this past week I had the honor of shooting for BOTH magazines!

    The first assignment was for WI Bride Magazine and consisted of photographing boquets. I rented the Historical Turner Hall and had a great day working with my designer, Heather, and the art director. It’s hard not to have a great day when you are working with flowers, you know? Here are the results of that photo shoot to be published for the Fall issue of Wisconsin Bride Magazine. Make sure to check out the “contributor” page where you will find a short paragraph and a photo of me!

    Flowers6 Flowers5 Flowers4 Flowers3 Flowers2 Flower1

    The second assignment was from Milwaukee Magazine for a story on nightlife in Milwaukee. I was asked to specifically photograph ZenDen (located in the old Wyndham Hotel which is now the Intercontinental Hotel) and Moct.
    Definately two different types of crowds/age groups. Here are some of my favorites from this shoot:

    ZenDen3 ZenDen2 ZenDen1 Moct2 Moct1

  • Perceval

    This weekend I had the pleasure of being Production Coordinator for the film Perceval, by filmmaker Tate Bunker.
    This was the first section of shooting and involved a three day stay at a ranch in Elkhorn, WI. We had a great team of actors, makeup artists, lighting crew, and costume designers. I am really happy that I was able to be a part of it, and look forward to the next shoot. I will keep you posted as to when this movie will be playing.

    Here are some images from this weekend. The first set consists of movie stills, and the second set is “behind the scenes”

    Unfortunately, due to the nature of my job, I was not able to be at all the scenes to take stills, so this is just a sampling of what went on….

    Enjoy!

    15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

    Behind the scenes….

    14 13 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 1a 1  2