Month: June 2006

  • Photo of the Day!

    Here is one of my favorites from Martha and Patricks wedding this weekend!

  • Portrait Series!

    Here are the three newest images in my portrait series. I am hoping to do 20, but so far have done 9. Almost half way!!

  • Curt and Betsy

    Curt and Betsy and I met at the infamous Sunburst sculpture at the end of Wisconsin Ave (you Milwaukeeans know what I’m talking about!) We had a lot of fun, of course! I was happy that Curt and Besty are willing to be my “clay” as Curt put it.

    It’s so nice being a freelance photographer. When I first graduated from college, I did weddings through a photo studio where the only contact we had with the couple was a phone call 2 weeks prior to the wedding. It made things very impersonal and I didn’t feel I had as much freedom. Once I started doing weddings on my own (way back in the day ) my world changed. Now, I actually get to know a little bit about the people I work with. And its so nice to show up on the wedding day and know that the couple trusts me and are comfortable around me and most importantly, are willing to listen and try out my ideas for photos.

    Anyways, I digress! Here are some of my favorite images from today:
    (p.s. Curt, I included some straight on portraits just for you!)

  • New York, New York

    My friend from Boston asked me if I’d like to go to New York with her. She’s getting her PH.D in Art History with an emphasis in American Art and said she needed to go see the Whitney Museum of American art in New York. Of course, I said yes.

    I flew into Boston, and we took the Fung Wah bus. For those of you not familiar with the Fung Wah, it’s a bus that takes you from Chinatown in Boston to Chinatown in New York, and it’s only $15 each way which is significantly lower that any other transportation route. Regardless, it can be exhausting, as it’s a 4 hour bus ride, not to mention that Canal street in New York (where you get dropped off) is an insanely busy street with blocks of vendors selling faux handbags and rolex watches. But exchanging comfort for cheap transportation is what you do when you’re young, right?

    Amongst a variety of humerous things that happened, the kicker was when we arrived at the Whitney only to find that the entire permanant collection was closed! They are getting ready for their 75th anniversary show, and so that only thing that was available was a special Hopper exhibit on the top floor. Though the Hopper exhibit was wonderful, it was a big disappointment. And I’d also like to point out that we had checked the website a few times before we arrived and no where does it say that the museum is basically closed!

    All in all though, it was a lovely time, highlights which included eating at a Korean BBQ, seeing the Hopper and a Jackson Pollock exhibit of small works on paper, and being in New York in non-extreme weather conditions for the first time! (My first trip to NYC was in a blizzard, the second trip during a heat wave in August!)

  • Photo of the Day!

    I will be posting more from this wedding soon, but just wanted to post this photo:

  • Ruby and Chad

    Ruby and Chad are off in Ireland and Scotland (I am *so* jealous) but I still wanted to post some images from their wedding on June 3rd.

  • Babies!

    Last week, a wonderful collegue of mine, Deone, was kind enough to let me use her studio to photograph my sister in law. My brother and sister in law are expecting their second child and have decided to name her Sasha. Sasha is due in a few weeks, so we did these just in time! Here are a few of my favorties so far:

    We did a mixture of more classic poses and then I got a little more creative towards the end, as in the second shot. It was so much fun!

  • Food, Fashion, Fun

    Last year I had done a collaboration portfolio project with fashion designer Laddhavan Sutana and stylist Julie Dietrich. In trade I provided photographs to the two ladies for their portfolio, and Laddhavan gave me a clothing credit. Unfortunately, due to our busy schedules, we didn’t get together until today to go over my clothing selections. But I picked out two dresses from her spring line and I am *so* excited to get them!!!! I think one of the things I am most excited about is that the dresses are being made to my measurements, which I’ve never had done before. Check out her website at www.sutana.com .


    Today, I also did an engagement session with Jennifer and Scott. We joked about the weather because they are currently living in Arizona and it was freezing out today! (Then again, it’s Wisconsin, so the weather changes every two seconds.) Anyways, after making a pitstop at Starbucks, we proceeded to take some pictures. We all get along really well, which always makes things fun! Here are some of my favorites:   


     


    After the engagement session, I went over to Nana Kusa because I had to photograph the restaurant for the Shepherd Express. It was a genuine pleasure meeting the proprietor, Richard. Although I enjoy sushi, I am by no means an expert. Richard and I talked for at least an hour, and I learned SO much – it was really a lovely time. (Plus, I got to sample the sushi and it was phenomial!) This is the final piece I turned in to the Shepherd: