Month: January 2011

  • Kleenex TISSUE Wedding Dress

    This morning my parents were kind enough to help me transport this tissue wedding dress to the Milwaukee Art Museum. Here is a photo of my display:

     

       

     

    As I mentioned yesterday, I created this dress entirely out of Kleenex tissue. I printed onto the tissue using well-known poems and love letters suggested to me by friends and family (this is a technique I developed for another tissue dress project I am working on, which I will be talking about in the near future).

    Per the brilliant idea of my friend Jess Stern (www.stagbarbershop.com), I created a removable piece in the front, so that the dress transforms into a cocktail dress! This is perfect for a ceremony to reception transformation. (Thanks to her also, for stepping into my den of tissue, glue and thread to help me complete the dress at the 11th hour!) Please note that the dress is also on a pedestal and is hovering above the ground a bit. If the dress was on the ground, there is actually a bit of a train….

    Next to my display, I also created a binder that displays all of the text in it’s full format, for all to read and enjoy. This is a competition, so hopefully I’ll win a place!

    I am not really sure where this dress will go after the competition, but I’d like to give her a nice home, or at least, a traveling residency. If anyone has any suggestions, please contact me.

    And if anyone has ideas as to why I am so insane that I spent a weekend tediously making a dress out of Kleenex for no apparent reason, I’m all ears! ;)

  • The Artful Bride Event at the Milwaukee Art Museum

    Hello Friends!

     

    Here is a phone snapshot of the dress that I am working on for the Artful Bride Event tomorrow at the Milwaukee Art Museum:

     

    The competition is to:

    Create a life size couture bridal gown sculpture using paper products of your choice.

    Bridal gowns will be judged on style, wearability, creativity & originality.

    Bridal gowns  will be judged by a panel of judges.

    Prizes will be awarded for first, second and third place.

    THE WINNING ENTREES  IN BOTH COMPETITIONS WILL BE PICTURED IN M MAGAZINE!!

     

    I’m making my dress entirely out of KLEENEX!

     

     

    Come and say hello, and see my completed dress in person!!

    Monday, January 31, 2011, from 4 p.m. – 9 p.m.

    For more information, go to: http://www.theartfulbrideevent.com/index.html

  • Local Artists Share Love of Arts with Students

    Check out the article I wrote/photographed for www.Patch.com

     

    http://patch.com/A-dgld

    What a great opportunity for young students to discuss the importance of art with such varied and talented local artists!