Month: December 2010

  • Grandma’s Superhero Therapy!

    “A few years ago, French photographer Sacha Goldberger found his 91-year-old Hungarian grandmother Frederika feeling lonely and depressed. To cheer her up, he suggested that they shoot a series of outrageous photographs in unusual costumes, poses, and locations. Grandma reluctantly agreed, but once they got rolling, she couldn’t stop smiling.”

     

    This is great work!

     

    Check out the rest:

    http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/grandmas-superhero-therapy-18

  • Check out some new additions to my Etsy Site!

    I’ve been rummaging flea markets and antique stores for vintage frames. You can purchase them alone or with one of my prints! Woo!

    www.jessicakaminski.etsy.com

     

  • Layered Journey

    This past weekend I went to New York for a little breather, to meet up with some friends, and to check out the show at the Gallery of the City of New York that my friend curated. 

    While there I met a musician. He mentioned that he was looking for some imagery to accompany the new website. He sent me some tracks from his new album that he is working on, and it was very electronic, layered, and moody. The phrase that came to mind was “layered journey”. 

    So, with that phrase in mind, I took some of my photographs from different parts of a trip to Chicago, and layered them together.

    Here are some of the images I came up with.

     

      

  • Save The Date : Gallery Night and Day January 2011

    I am honored to announce that I will be showing in the next Gallery Night!!!!  

    Not only that, but it is a week after my birthday. SO OF COURSE YOU HAVE TO COME!!! :)

     

    Here are the details:

    WHAT: Gallery Night and Day (http://www.historicthirdward.org/events/gallerynight.php)

    WHERE: Flux Design/Gallery 326 (located above Swig Restaurant)

    217 N. Broadway, 2nd Floor – 414.431.7944 – www.thinkflux.com

    WHEN: Friday: 5:30 to 11pm, Saturday: 11am to 5pm

    WHO: Jessica Kaminski, Mike McGuiness, SomaFlux (Showing collaborative artwork between Jennifer Espenschield and Jeremy Shamrowicz), Kamryn Boelk 

     

    You want to see the above photo printed really big? Then you’d better come to the show. Oh, and you’ll probably want to bring your wallet, because you’ll fall in love with the really big printed photograph and will want to take it home with you IMMEDIATELY.

     

     

  • Tina Jumping

    Yesterday I photographed my Kleenex dress (to be revealed at a later point). Tina Poppy, my friend and owner of Violetville Vintage, was gracious enough to assist me on the shoot. Since it was about 15 degrees outside and my model was wearing…well…a dress made out of Kleenex, we kept her warm in the car until the very last minute. This meant that Tina stood in so that I could test my lighting.

     

    Here’s one of the shots! 

     

    Beautious!

    Tina and I have known each other for about 15 years now and we were reminiscing the other day about my “Tina Portfolio”. I’ve photographed her so many times throughout the years, with every hair color and style imaginable! I love adding this shot to our portfolio!

     

    Thanks Tina!

  • New prints available!

    Here are some of the new prints available on my Etsy site!  www.jessicakaminski.etsy.com

     

  • New Project

    Kleenex. Jennifer’s Book. A dress. A project. This is the beginning…

  • MIAD Class!

    Hey All,

     

    So this past Saturday was my photo shoot at Hot Pop with my Pre-college class at MIAD entitled “Photographer’s on Assignment”

     

    For this class (which consisted of all high school girls, and my lovely T.A. Grant), we took a trip to Hot Pop. Owner Margaret Martin gave us a tour and a little history regarding her store. Afterwards, each of the girls came up with a photo shoot idea and pitched it to Margaret and her Graphic Designer/Manager, who gave each of the girls feedback on their photo ideas, and then picked one photo idea to be produced. We spent the next few classes producing the photo shoot, and we executed it last Saturday. This Saturday we’ll review what we shot, and pick a few images to send over to Margaret.

    Below you’ll see the crew shot, which consists of my students and their models. I might be in there somewhere too. ;)

     

  • Upcoming Project with UWM Professor Jennifer Johung

    Check out the latest Art City in which UWM Professor Jennifer Johung mentions our upcoming collaboration!

    Here is the link: http://bit.ly/fge27F