Month: October 2010

  • The Dreamer – The Tallest Man on Earth

    i’m just a dreamer but i’m hanging on
    though i am nothing big to offer
    i watch the birds, how they dive in then gone
    it’s like nothing in this world’s ever still

    and i’m just a shadow of your thoughts in me
    but sun is setting, shadows growing
    a long cast figure will turn into night
    it’s like nothing in this world ever sleeps

    oh sometimes the blues is just a passing bird
    and why can’t that always be
    tossing aside from your birches crown
    just enough dark to see
    how you’re the light over me

    and by your side, girl, where the acres grow
    into the strong and stunning meadow
    a cowboy stumbling in the finest field
    and nothing good out there won’t be old

    oh sometimes the blues is just a passing bird
    and why can’t that always be
    tossing aside from your birches crown
    just enough dark to see
    how you’re the light over me

    sometimes the blues is just a passing bird
    and why can’t that always be
    tossing aside from your birches crown
    just enough dark to see
    how you’re the light over me 

     

  • Maybe I need a better camera strap?

    I finally broke down and went to get a massage last week. I was informed that I have a row of knots all along my right shoulder blade. NO SURPRISE THERE! 

     

    Perhaps a better camera strap would be a good purchase?

     

    I’ve been looking at this little set-up.

     

  • How to Be Alone

     

    I love this! It captures my sentiments exactly.

     

    p.s. Going to the movies by yourself is awesome.

  • The Art of Being Alone

    Love this! It’s beautiful and covers my sentiments exactly. 

     

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k7X7sZzSXYs

     

    p.s. Going to the movies by yourself is awesome, FYI

  • Ariane and Robert

    So, not only is September 11 my mother’s birthday, but this year, it was also the wedding celebration of one of my oldest friends!

     

    (We met in middle school and she still talked to me even though I wore horrendous purple and white striped shorts. But I digress…)

     

    A beautiful day at Hubbard Park Lodge. 

     

    Congrats to those two crazy kids! xoxo

     

  • Poetry!

    I’ve always loved the quote by Dr Seuss: “Be who you are, and say what you feel, because those who matter don’t mind, and those who mind, don’t matter”

    The other day, my little brother posted another Seuss quote on Facebook: “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You”

    After perusing the internet revisiting his words with adult eyes, I ran across this one, which I think sums up how I’ve been feeling about his words : “Sometimes the questions are complicated, but the answers are simple”.

     

    Obviously, I have not taken a photograph of Dr Seuss, but I thought I’d post this photo I took of a local wordsmith, Josh Fogle. I photographed him at the old Schwartz bookstore on Downer Ave.

     

  • From the Vault

    So, I took this photo last year. 

    It’s of my friend Brian, and he’s standing in my driveway in front of the neighbor’s house. 

    And I love it.

    And, I’ve never done anything with it.

    WHAT THE HECK?!

    SO, you can just, you know….look at it here. And maybe, one day, you can look at it all blown up and hanging on a wall all proper-like. 

     

     

  • Fever Marlene

    I ran across this photo I did of the band Fever Marlene for M Magazine a year or two ago and thought I’d repost it!

     

    Fever Marlene are from Milwaukee and consist of Scott Starr (LOVE that name!) and Kevin Dunphy. You can check out their website at www.fevermarlene.com

     

  • Justin!

    Last week I photographed Justin for his Senior Portraits. 

     

    It was really cool talking to him. 

     

    There have been a few situations recently, such as teaching pre-college at MIAD over the summer, where I have been working with high school students. I find myself really fascinated with that age group lately. I’m fascinated with where they are in their lives, and what they are surrounded by, and what they are thinking about.  

     

    So anyways, it was really cool hanging out with Justin, and here is a sampling of our photo shoot!

     

  • For the month of October: SILVER LINING SPECIAL ONE LOOK. ONE RETOUCHED IMAGE. $195

    J Kaminski Photography will be moving out of our studio at 215 Water Street at the end of the month, due to a rent increase. The space is so beautiful, that we wanted to extend a final opportunity to have your portrait taken in the studio before we move! 

    SILVER LINING SPECIAL ONE LOOK. ONE RETOUCHED IMAGE. $195 

    call 414.350.8943 or email Jessica: Jessica@JKaminskiphoto.com

     

    Your $195 session includes 50 minutes, with your choice of background (Cream City Brick, the Vintage Advertisement Wall, or Classic Solid Color backdrops!), online hosting of your images for 3 months, retouching of one image, and 1 8 x 10 and 2 5 x 7’s.

     

    Ideal For:

    • Actor or Corporate Headshot
    • Promotional Image*
    • Senior Photos
    • Family Photo
    • Portrait

     

    Add On:

    1. 25 Holiday Cards (4 x 5.5) for $45 (Regularly $56.25) Additional cards, $25/25 Envelopes Included

    2. 8 Wallets for $15 (regularly $25)

    3. Additional 8 x 10 prints $40 (regularly $50)

    4. Additional 5 x 7 prints $25 (regularly $35)

    5. Additional look $50

     

    Professional Makeup Services and Wardrobe Consultations Available.

     

    *Additional usage rights must be negotiated for images that would be used for advertisements or promotional materials.  

     

     

    Jessica Kaminski is an award-winning artist and photographer currently residing in Milwaukee, WI.

    Kaminski received her B.F. A. in Photography from the Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design, which included study at Studio Art Centers International in Florence, Italy. After graduation, her work was featured in a number of local and national publications, including The Wall Street Journal and Movie Maker Magazine. Kaminski later went on to become the staff photographer for a prominent midwest magazine, winning two Excellence in Wisconsin Journalism awards for her fashion work.

    In addition to freelancing full-time, Kaminski does Art Direction for films and commercials, teaches classes at the Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design, and shows her work in galleries.

    Interests Photography, Traveling, Fashion, Music, is a self-proclaimed “Foodie” and lover of cupcakes, well-written emails, and lipgloss.